Can I...?

Just finishing the first course from total beginner and some how I seem to have missed what must be a pretty important start to a sentence.

How do you start a question with, “Can I have/do/buy/etc…”?

Lots of practice in lesson 2 with “Can you…”, but nothing for “Can I”, unless I missed it?
Thanks

“Can I ……?” / “May I …….?” is “Ga i ……?” and the word following takes a soft mutation but for “Can I/May I have…”, you don’t need the ‘have’ - it’s built in to the ‘ga’ because that itself comes from cael.

So for your examples -

Can I have (a cup of tea) = Ga I (banad o de)
Can I do (something for you) = Ga I (wneud rhywbeth amdanat ti)
Can I buy (that book) = Ga I brynu (y llyfr yna)
etc - e.g. Can I close the door/open the window = Ga I gau’r drws/agor y ffenest

:slight_smile:

6 Likes

a quick one that I thought about while hitting the snooze button on this very wet and unmotivating day:
We say something like: “fyffa’i byth…” for “I will never…”

Can I extend this to: “dw i wedi byth…” for “I have never” Or “dw i wedi wastad …” for “I have always wanted” or “dw i wedi wir moyn” for "I have really wanted… " etc
Basically I am trying to add a bit more the “dw i wedi bod yn…” structure we have learned and the above is what seems sort of correct…thanks!

Dwi byth wedi - you’re nearly there, just need to swap the order around.

2 Likes

It’s great that you’re trying to extend structures you’ve learnt, so don’t stop doing that, but you happen to have picked one to work on that isn’t as straightforward as it first seems. Don’t worry though, things will click into place as you come across more examples of useage.

You’re kind of on the right lines, but when you extend ‘dw i wedi’ sentences, those 3 words don’t necessarily stay in that order. e.g. I have always wanted = dw i wastad wedi moyn, I have really wanted = dw i wir wedi moyn

However, when it comes to “I have never”, you need ‘erioed’ for the ‘never’ rather than ‘byth’… dwi erioed wedi

3 Likes