My experience with Welsh so far (and 3 months of SSiW)

Almost three months since I started learning Welsh with SSiW, and…hey, I’m still here! When I decided to give a try to Challenge 1, mostly out of curiosity, I wasn’t even sure I’d get past lesson 2 or 3. Because, after all, I really don’t need to learn to speak Welsh.

I don’t live in Wales or anywhere close. I’m not planning to move there. I have no knowledge of Welsh ancestors of mine. I can’t think of any situation in my life now for which speaking Welsh could be necessary. I’m not even a Tolkien or a Celtic culture fan. I’ve spent only a few hours in Wales in all my life, as a teenager, on a train to Ireland. I didn’t hear anyone speaking Welsh, back then; I just saw a few names of towns, and they looked dreadful. So how on earth did I get myself into such trouble?

Welsh before SSiW
In 1995, a British musician, Ben Wallers, named a Welsh band among his favorites. I didn’t ask him to spell their name and, back to Italy, there was no way to figure out who those mysterious “datbloggy” could be.

About 10 years later, during a long boring drive in France, the iPod picked a song from a recently found record. “Hey, what language is this?!”. I just loved the way it sounded, even though the only words I could identify were casserole and germaine. I got totally hooked on trying to sing along those songs; or better, trying to repeat those sequences of somewhat weird sounds I was hearing. I can’t tell exactly why, but I sure had a whole lot of fun doing that!