Soft Mutation of Welsh adverbs?

This sentence appears in the Mynediad Dwys course I am studying:

‘Dyn ni wedi bod yn gweithio dramor’.

I know that nouns and adjectives mutate after ‘yn’, but surely ‘tramor’ here is an adverb so why the mutation? Or is ‘tramor’ here treated as a noun? (We have been…overseas)

1 Like

Treated as an adjective I meant to say.

I don’t know if it’s an adverb of place. In the challenges, It is mutated to dramor after the verb(s) for “travel”.

Hi Debra,
I think @garethrking is the top man to explain exactly how this works (and to correct me if what I say below is wrong!), but I’ll have a go at explaining.

Just as adjectives mutate after yn, so do adverbs (e.g. symud yn gyflym), it’s just that there are some adverbs that don’t need an yn yet they still mutate. Tramor, as you’ve noticed is one, as is cartref (e.g. heddiw dwi’n aros gartref).

I hope that helps, and maybe Gareth can elucidate further.

7 Likes

Yes, as usual Siaron has done the spadework here. I’ll come from a different angle to say the same thing:

There are two types of adverb:

1. adverbs of manner, describing how an action is performed (like -ly in English), and these are formed from adjectives by prefixing yn + SM: cyflym quick > yn gyflym quickly. There are squillions of these of course, because there are squillions of adjectives.