An off-topic discussion about nationalism and culture

[Moderator: this was in response to Rhiannon’s post:]

I think without the language so much of the culture is lost. Our folklore, songs, poetry etc are lost to me for now, and would be lost entirely if Welsh died out. So learning the language is a way to connect with all of that and be part of the necessary fight to keep it alive. It’s Welsh Nationalism of necessity, I suppose. I feel like all languages are worth something, and losing any would make humanity poorer for it. Welsh is my problem though, I definitely feel a sense of responsibility for it.

I have to disagree with this I’m afraid. As a musician, I don’t think language is entirely linked with culture, and I really don’t think very much (any?) culture would be lost if the language was. I’m also very much against nationalism (especially in the current social and political climate when walls are being put up figuratively and literally). I embrace Welsh and the language, and I’m proud of it, but I’m no better or worse than anyone else for being Welsh. What’s destroying our culture is the lack of respect for it, that’s what we need to work at.

2 Likes

I think you might have missed my first post (it’s a few before the one you quoted). I have never said I am better than anyone for being Welsh, of course I am not, I believe all languages to be of worth. My previous post stated that I believe everyone should be proud of who they are and where they come from, and also that indifference is the danger facing our language now. It seems we agree on a lot. I understand your views on Nationalism as well and share them in general, I want to protect Welsh by encouraging the learning of it, rather than building a wall around it.

As for our culture, I do genuinely think that understanding our language is important for being able to read and understand our poetry and folklore. That’s just my view though.

3 Likes