Best way to learn?

Hi folks!

I was going to be sitting my GCSEs this year, but as a lot of you will know, they have been cancelled, schools have been closed and as a result I suddenly have a lot of free time on my hands!

I really want to be a fluent Welsh speaker by the end of these five months of summer and I was wondering two things:

1. Which is the best way to access the SSiW lessons? Do a whole one in one go, do two or more in one go or do one is lots of small sittings?

2. What other things could I be doing to accelerate my Welsh learning?

Diolch,

Lucy :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Superb positive thinking, Lucy :star:
I’m sure you’ll soon get some suggestions here which will help you realise your commendable ambition.
Pob lwc :smile:

2 Likes

Hi, I tend to break my challenge down into about 10 to 15 minute chunks and do the full challenge over the day, and then I’ll move onto next challenge after about a week I’m pretty new to SSiW, I’m on level 1 challenge 5, I also use Duolingo, I hope this is some help to you

2 Likes

People have different learning styles, so I’d say whatever you find suits you best and helps you to keep at it, e.g. regularly setting aside enough time to do two in one go might be difficult. It’s important too not to feel you have to remember everything or do everything right before you move on to the next step - if you get about 80% of the challenges right that’s enough :slightly_smiling_face:

Having Radio Cymru/Radio Cymru 2 on in the background through the day helps to get accustomed to the sound of Welsh and the different accents even if you’re not consciously paying attention and you’ll soon find you’re recognising words and understanding more of what people are saying. And listening to songs on the radio you’ll soon find some ear worms which can’t help but add to your vocabulary.