Context and new learner

Hello. I have started challenge one having finished the one sentence in Welsh. I am a qualified language teacher and I’m finding it hard learning by this method due to the lack of context. I was always taught and have found it to be true that people learn much better when things are in context, for example I learned loads of French by reading recipe books where I could garner the meaning of the terms easily due to their context. With a language like welsh which is so totally different from any latin or germanic based language it’s really a struggle for me. Any suggestions to help me? I’m not doing too bad with learning the words but not sure how useful it is to be able to say things like I want to speak welsh because I love the welsh language and I want to practice etc. No offence meant whatsoever, I can see the method works for learning to say words, I’d just really like to be able to make some sentences that I could actually use in a cafe or something. How far on in the course does this come? Thanks

1 Like

Hi Helwn,

Welcome! :slight_smile: The way this course works is one of the most surprising things I’ve come across - counter intuitive (to me) and different to the way I have learnt anything else (which is probably why).

I started in October just over a year ago and went to an SSIW meeting in Leeds the January following and spoke (faltering) Welsh with the people there - something I found amazing and very pleasing at the time.

The course builds quickly and rapidly moved onto more complex phrases and sentences and because you learn them all via the medium of speech your brain stores them ‘ready to roll’ - it’s a little bit weird but also curiously simple.

But I guess that’s the way we all learnt our language the first time round.

Keep going, it won’t take you long to ‘get it’!

Rich

:slight_smile:

3 Likes