Correct pronunciation of "ac"

I have been pronouncing “ac” (the form of “and” used before vowels and words like “mae”) with a hard “c” sound - like “ack.” I was sure this was what I’ve been hearing on SSIW, on the old Catchphrase lessons, and on my Teach Yourself Welsh tapes. Recently, I was told it should be pronounced “ag” with a “g” sound - like the beginning of the word “agriculture.” Should I be pronouncing ac as “ag?” Have I been hearing it wrong all this time? Or is this a word whose pronunciation varies from place to place in Wales, so either is correct?

By the way, I’ve been using SSIW for over 2 years now. I’ve finished Course 3 and am now really enjoying the new Course 1. I don’t get on the forum much due to time constraints, but I love SSIW and am totally convinced that this is the best method for learning a language. Thanks to all (Aran, Catrin, Iestyn, Cat, and everyone on the forum) for your hard work in making this such a wonderful and successful language learning experience.

I use “ack”…Hmmm…saying it over to my self a few times with various words “ag” as well.

Diolch yn fawr, Dinas. Do you notice any patterns in when you say “ack” versus when you say “ag”? Although that’s probably a hard one to answer, since I suppose a lot of little shifts happen in natural speech of which we are totally unaware. And of course, I can’t think of any examples at the moment for just that reason!

And thank you for your very kind comments…:smile:

Who told you that you should pronounce ‘ac’ as ‘ag’? It’s a tiny shift, really, but no, you’ll be absolutely fine saying it with a hard c all the time. Maybe the person who told you that was confusing it with the word ‘ag’, which does get pronounced with a hard g sound…:smile:

Aran said : "who told you that you should pronounce ‘ac’ as ‘ag’?

The Geiriadur Yr Academi, for one!
“The conjunctions ac and nac are always pronounced as if ag, nag”

Heini Gruffudd’s “The Welsh Learner’s Dictionary” has the entry
ac (conj) [ag]