Cwm Rhondda (the hymn tune)

Like many people here probably, I’ve always loved the hymn tune “Cwm Rhondda”.

When I started learning Welsh, I thought it would be a nice idea to try to learn the Welsh words.

That’s when I discovered the situation wasn’t 100% straightforward. What I didn’t know then, but probably people here do know, is that the Welsh words normally sung to the tune of “Cwm Rhondda” are from a completely different hymn by a different author.

The English words start “Guide me o thou Great Jehovah” (or “Redeemer”) and have the well-known rousing chorus “Bread of Heaven”. There is a Welsh version of that hymn (although the translation is far from literal - and I think the Welsh version came first), although apparently it’s normally sung to a different tune.

It’s all explained quite well in the Wikipedia page:

However, today, by chance, I found this quite interesting Youtube video about it:

As well as some history, it also includes English and Welsh versions, with bi-lingual subtitles.

6 Likes

Diolch @mikeellwood – very interesting!

I have a lovely CD (“We’ll Keep A Welcome”) of Welsh songs and hymns (in both English and Cymraeg) sung by the incomparable Bryn Terfel. Cwm Rhondda is included, – four verses, the first in English, the second and third in Cymraeg, and the last one once again in English. The CD “sleeve” has all the lyrics!

The English verses have the classic William Williams words – starting with “Guide me, O thou Great Jehovah!” and “When I tread the verge of Jordan”. The second of the Welsh verses starts with the words “Agor y ffynhonnau melys”-- as identified in the YouTube video and the Wikipedia article, as being written by Ann Griffiths. However, _Verse 2 is also by Ann Griffiths (according to the CD sleeve) and these lovely words do not appear anywhere in either the YouTube video or the Wikipedia article. Here they are…

Rhosyn Saron yw ei enw,
Gwyn a gwridog, teg o bryd;
Ar ddeng mil y mae’n rhagori
O wrthrychau penna’r byd: