Finding beginner's fiction books in Spanish

Hi, introducing myself. My name is Maeve and I have been learning Spanish for about 5 months. I live in Stockport, Cheshire. I love learning by the ’ Say Something in…’ way. I got to quite a high standard ( 1 exam down from GCSE Level) in Welsh last year. I did combine this with reading beginner’s fiction
books but am failing in finding anything suitable in Spanish!! If any one knows of any, I would be grateful for titles et.!!
Thank you.

1 Like

Hi Maeve, and a very warm welcome to the Spanish side of the site!

I’ve tended to look for Spanish versions of adult books I like more than beginners’ fiction per se - maybe you could look for books you’re familiar with on amazon.es?

Let us know how you get on with it :sunny:

Hi Aran,
Thanks for the welcome and taking the trouble to reply to me. Yes I agree with you that Adult books are better than beginners. When I was learning Welsh, the first fiction book I read was ‘Blodwen Jones’. That was fantastic and included some vocabulary in English at the bottom of every page. I just can’t find a Spanish book equivalent anywhere. I have purchased a little book of short stories in Spanish but alas, have found it just that bit too challenging for me!!
I will keep on looking. Also I am going to Lanzarote for 2 months soon so I will continue with my research in this matter there! At least I should be able to test my language skills!! Saludos, Maeve

1 Like

Hi Maeve,

I have found these graded readers very useful when I was learning French:

http://www.languages-direct.com/books/easy-readers/black-cat-graded-readers/black-cat-spanish-graded-readers/don-quijote-de-la-mancha-miguel-de-cervantes.html#.VGIZ4u9wbMI

They have a good quality recording and some comprehension excercises at the end of each chapter.

Hope this helps!
Gaby

3 Likes

Thank you so much. I will certainly look those up. They sound very intwresting