How good is your Welsh?

How long have you been learning, what means have you been using, and what level is your Welsh at now? Can you, for example, happily listen to the radio or watch the TV in Welsh and understand all / most / some / the odd word of what’s being said? Can you speak fluently native speakers / get the gist of conversation / answer and ask simple question? Can you read books in Welsh and at what level?

I’m just curious, really.

I started learning Welsh last October, started SSIW in about March or April and I can get the odd sentence from radio Cymru and can usually understand the topic of conversation, but not what’s actually being said. I can generally follow the traffic and weather reports! As for reading, I’ve finished the Mynediad section of Lois Arnold’s “Ffenstri” and haven’t had any problems with the first Sylfaen level story. As for speaking… well, only my dogs can tell you how good that is!

4 Likes

I’ve been learning (this time round) since April 2017. Before that, I learned in school to GCSE (actually it was a something called a GCE which was only offered for one year between O levels and GCSE). I also spent a bit of time trying to learn when I was 18 (30 years ago!) using a teach yourself welsh book and watching Pobl y Cwm with subtitles. Forgot most of that, but it did give me a background, certainly during most of course 1 with SSIW the words were not new to me, and I retained quite a lot of passive vocab - couldn’t have spoken a sentence to you 2 years ago though.

I’ve used quite a few things!

• SSIW (completed all the new and most of the old lessons for the South, most more than once)
  • Duolingo (completed the tree to gold under the old system)
  • Watching Pobl y Cwm with subtitles (first in English, now in Welsh). Other S4C programmes at various points
  • Downloading Radio Cymru programmes to listen to on the way to work