John - Say something in English

I am an old newcomer - that is to say I started learning with SSiW with the original lessons, struggled to commit in the past, and now I am picking it up the challenges “on a mission” to go through it properly and commit so much per week to it.

So I have got through quite a few challenges, and feel really comfortable not having to pause. I started to watch “cariad@iaith” which is really good, but I found I was struggling to pick up the basic words Caroline was saying in welsh right at the beginning. I was recognising many words but struggled to work in my mind coverting them to English, and yet I “kind” of followed what she was saying. Does that make sense? Going through the lessons, you hear the English, and you are required to convert to Welsh, works great. But trying to watch S4C, and I am hearing the welsh and not able to convert backwards even the words I know well.

I just wanted to know if (a) watching Welsh channels is OK or bad for you in the early stages of the challenges, (e.g. up to lesson 6), and is it natural to struggle converting it backwards - is this something I can contiune to practise without worrying about it?

Thanks for this site, My roots on my mums side is deeo in Ton Pentre, and I want to learn welsh in respect of my nan. This site has really helped!

Not at all bad for you - watching Welsh TV, listening to Welsh radio or podcasts, it’s all good no matter what level you’re at, BUT don’t fall into the misconception that you need to be translating/understanding it. Just hearing it will reinforce patterns and vocabulary, and gradually you will understand more and more. Ok, so that may be a while away yet, but yes, do continue to hear Welsh at every opportunity, because while it is natural to struggle converting it backwards, it’ll help you reach the stage where eventually, you’ll be understanding it without translating at all… it’ll just make sense in Welsh!

1 Like