Me, myself and I

Folks,
Noob here and probably a bit dense but is there a rule to differentiating “I” ( N Welsh don’t know if it makes a difference)?
When is it Mae and when is it Dw i…
Regards
Rowly

1 Like

Hello Rowly,

“mae” is nothing to do with “me”, but is the “is” form of the verb “to be” in Welsh. The verb “to be” in Welsh (“bod” is the “dictionary form”), is quite confusing.

“dw” is the “am” form of the verb, and in “dw i”, the “i”, is the same as “I” in English. It’s the subject of the verb “dw”, just as “I” is the subject of the verb “am”, although after the verb and not before it as in English.

What you may be thinking of is “mi”, which is pretty much the same as “me” in English, except that it is often mutated to “fi”.

(I will leave “myself” to someone else, as I’d have to look that one up to be sure. :slight_smile: ).

3 Likes

Ah, Mike thanks for the answer but it’s what I feared…whilst a fluent English speaker and, in fact English, my understanding of grammar is poor.
I have reached challenge 6.
So if I understand you correctly:
I am speaking Welsh is (excuse the spelling but this will be phoneticish) Dwi sharad cumraig.
I still want to is mae dal ride i me…ah now I remember Aaron explaining that that meant there is still a must for me…so your explanation regarding me is correct.
I shall plough on.
Cheers

3 Likes

Yup, in general terms this is quite simple, because it’s…

‘Dwi isio gwneud…’ [I want to do…]

‘Mae o isio gwneud…’ [He wants to do…]

But we have this slightly odd structure for rhaid - mae rhaid i mi - there is a need for me…

But if you just plough on, and don’t worry too much about it, your brain will start to get the pattern sorted out for you… :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Which reminds me that I hear “Rhaid i mi” in Gog, your voice, Aran