Netmouse does Spanish - the story so far…

Last month I decided to dive into the Spanish course as a complete beginner, 4 weeks before I had to take the kids to Spain for a dancing event. It’s been a fun rollercoaster ride, and a success so far. Here is the (very long) story, in case it is of interest…

I reached quite a good rhythm in the end, although not exactly as recommended. (More on that later.) I managed to listen through all of course 1, the tourist course, and the first 7 lessons of course 2, in the course of the month, and also tried it out a good few times. I spoke to a few random people in S. America. (It’s really easy to find native speakers for Spanish-English swap.) I had a fun learner-exchange session with @jamesmahoney, talking about our brothers and sisters in pubs! And above all, @daeld-daeldia deserves a medal for his unending patience with my early efforts - it was a real treat to be able to try out with a native speaker who is also familiar with the SSI method. (And a bonus to do a bit of swapping with his excellent Cymraeg too!)

I when we got to Spain, it was absolutely lovely to be able to say simple things and not to have to be a completely monoglot Brit - although obviously it was still very basic, and I picked my moments. Some people answered in English anyway, to the vast amusement of the kids! But in general I was pretty chuffed for a few weeks’ work.

The last month has also been an opportunity to think about the method in general. As you know, I’m one of the greatest fans of SSI, but in recent years I have worried that the advice seems increasingly unconventional, possibly to the extent of scaring off potential learners early in the process. My greatest fear about the method as it currently stands is that it could come across as too intimidating and put people off.