New member saying hi to all

Hello everyone. My name is Davie, I live in Scotland. I have been learning Spanish for so many years, flitting in and out of my studies. Learning then forgetting a lot of things. I have used many of the excellent online learning sites. I know a lot about the conjugation of verbs etc, but could not really construct great sentences. I then discovered SSI, that has all changed. I had completed up to lesson 14, when I visited Spain for 10 days, just arrived home on Friday last week. I was delighted with how much I could actually speak when I was there, a lot of this is genuinely down to SSI. It really did make my holiday so much better, with the reaction from the Spanish people being so positive toward me as a learner.

I would say though, I really did struggle to understand a lot of what was being said, my brain could not compute quickly enough, and or I was not hearing the words clearly enough. Or by the time I had remembered what a word meant they had moved on!

I would like to hear if it were possible. A reverse of translating English to Spanish. I am not sure if it is just me, but if I know what I am going to say, I can prepare my mind, but when Spanish is fired at me I do struggle.

Is there any suggestions, other than mine that I could use to help me understand/compute Spanish?

Oh and hi everyone

3 Likes