(Newbie) Level 1 lesson1/2 South Wales Welsh help!

Helo!
I’m new to learning Welsh although I know the odd phrase from working in a primary school. The problem is things I thought I knew are apparently different, for example;
“eisiau” I always believed (and we teach at school) means to want? Only the challenge says it means “to need” and “moyn” is to want?
Also I’m really confused with what the difference is between the meaning of “duade” and the meaning of “siarad” ?

Please bear with me! Haha! My poor brain! I’m forever pausing it and saying each sentence in parts, then when I try to say the whole sentence I forget what it was! Oh dear!

Diolch for reading!
Nicola

4 Likes

dweud is “say” or “tell”, and siarad is “speak” or “talk”.

So, for example, the difference between “He said that he is happy / He told me that he is happy” and “He spoke to me” or “You speak Welsh very well”.

2 Likes

Dweud is to say, while siarad is to speak.

Eisiau and moyn don’t really translate quite so directly to English as to be need and want respectively; as such, some places will use eisiau for need while other places use it for want, with angen being a stronger word for it and moyn being a less strong word. The Welsh commonly taught as a second language in school is a mix of several local dialects, the result being two standardised forms of Welsh that hardly anybody actually speaks. The Welsh you’re learning here is the local dialect where Iestyn grew up.

4 Likes

Welcome to the Forum @xxnicola1987xx

Dweud means to tell, or to say.

Siarad means to speak.

Iestyn, the lovely man you listen to on the challenges probably says, Don’t worry about it. We all do, at the beginning, but we all learn not to worry about it. Want and need are pretty flexible words in English. ( I want to go to the loo, I need to go to the loo), and very few languages map directly one word onto another word in all circumstances.