Online Wlpan with Bangor university

I’ve been doing the SSiW challenges for a few years and am not really consistent with it. I’ll have a period of doing them for a week or so and then leave it for a while and have to go back to the beginning as I’ve forgotten everything!

I’ve seen that Bangor University do an online Wlpan course which starts in September. You have a one hour online class a week and I presume homework. I think having a weekly course might keep me focused.

Has anyone done the online course? If so what did you think? And is it very different from the SSiW Welsh? I’d like to carry on with the SSiW challenges but don’t want to get myself confused if the Wlpan is more formal.

Thanks!

Yes I did it but I didn’t stick with it - mea culpa. I must say that the material they sent and the feedback on the “Gwaith Cartref” was very good. I believe @tahl may be able to give you a better account.

2 Likes

How did the online classes work? I’ve only ever done classes with prerecorded videos not live ones.

Oh, sorry. Perhaps things have moved on. There were no online classes when I did it. I’m sure others can give you a more current view.

Can I suggest that after your next gap, you don’t go back to the beginning, but start again with the next new lesson, and trust the spaced repetition to bring the previous stuff back in due course? You’ll probably progress far more quickly/successfully if you do that (and if you accept a higher level of mistakes than you perhaps currently think is reasonable!)… :slight_smile:

1 Like

I think it’s a newish thing, for people who can’t get to a classroom.

I tried that but felt that I couldn’t remember everything so would start again. Maybe I just need to accept more mistakes and forgetting of words and just plough on!

1 Like