Question from Geraint (currently doing Level 3)

6 Likes

6 Likes

8 Likes

9 Likes

4 Likes

Thanks for your answer, Siaron. Iā€™m actually finding these recordings a good way to practice speaking in a way thatā€™s more like a one-to-one conversation. Introverts donā€™t tend to do small talk, so although itā€™s not easy to think of answers to these questions, itā€™s going to be excellent practice for having conversations ā€œin the wildā€.

Many of the suggestions for practising speaking a language involve doing things that I donā€™t usually do and that I find very hard, like meeting a group of strangers in a pub and casually chatting. This is about the hardest thing I do in my native English, so the thought of doing it in Welsh is rather overwhelming. Just to clarify, Iā€™m not shy. I was a teacher for over 20 years, and thatā€™s probably made my introversion worse because after a day at work, Iā€™d be completely peopled out and Iā€™d need to hide away quietly at home in order to recharge my batteries.

7 Likes

I know exactly what you mean Margaret, Iā€™m the same, given the choice. It takes a series of huge deep breaths for me to walk into anything ā€˜socialā€™, even when itā€™s not necessarily strangers, and when I do do things like that, Iā€™m much happier to grab a corner and just listen and observe, but as youā€™ll know, thatā€™s not always possible. I have to call on my ā€˜public personaā€™ to get through it, but yes, it does take effort!

(Iā€™m pretty sure that will come as a shock to those Iā€™ve met up with so far through SSiW, but I keep the offer of a ā€˜panad a sgwrsā€™ open because I feel I do need to practice ā€˜fightā€™ rather than ā€˜flightā€™ - so anyone else reading this who is near Caernarfon anytime and wants a meet up, please donā€™t think youā€™re not welcome to do so - you are worth it!)