Reading a book

Hi all, I’m a newbie on here and got to session 11 and lived to tell the tale! I’m loving it!
I want to be able to read a Welsh book, not too hard, but don’t know where to start.

Any thoughts. I’m not proud about children’s books, if that’s what I need. Don’t know where to start.

Thanks

2 Likes

You might try the “Nofelau Nawr” series of books. They are quite short, and specifically designed for adult learners. On most pages there are some words given at the bottom, and the idea is that with the small amount of help you are given, and with what you know already, you can work out other unknown words from context (or if all else fails, look them up, of course).

If you are learning the northern flavour of Welsh, you might try the Blodwen Jones trilogy, by Bethan Gwanas.

However, there are several southern flavour books in the Nofelau Nawr series that I’ve come across, e.g. “Beth Nesa” by Gwen Redvers Jones, and “Gwendolin Pari, P.I.” by Meleri Wyn James.

If you live in the UK, you can often find these on Amazon Marketplace very cheap, although they are also quite cheap new in any case.

The language in this series of books is essentially colloquial Welsh, as taught by SSiW, and not what is normally thought of as formal written Welsh, However, you will probably notice a few small differences (other than north vs south) between what’s written in the books and what you are used to hearing on SSiW. You’ll soon get used to it though.

Pob Hwyl. :wink:

3 Likes

Shwmae Amanda, a chroeso i’r fforwm!