"speech therapy" techniques

Can anyone suggest any techniques/excercises for sounds which are unfamiliar to English speakers.

I’m really struggling with ‘NG’

Is NG particularly troublesome at the beginning of words? Could you give some examples of words you trip up on?

I’m no expert but I would say remember that the “G” is a guttural stop. So there is a sound we make when making the sound (or making fun of) some one drinking… we say “glug glug glug”. The g is a gutural stop… so there is just the hint of an n and then the “click” of the stop.

Hope that helps…

Hi Rob,
‘g’ by itself is usually a gutural stop, like Bobi said. But in a word like ‘ring’, the ‘ng’ is nasalised and not usually a stop, except in certain English dialects - Brian Cox comes to mind…

I have seen in the not too distant past a web article which describes each of the Welsh nasal mutations and gives an example English word with the sound combination in,

This amazed me at the time - I wouldn’t have thought it possible. Unfortunately I can’t seem to find it now.

I have a feeling that ng was ‘anglican’ - dropping the ‘a’ in the word gives the sound.

I’ll keep looking…

Rich :slight_smile:

I think I’d be right in saying (though I haven’t been through the whole dictionary to check) that in the majority of places you find the letter ng, it is preceded by a vowel sound. Even when it comes at the start of a word because of a nasal mutation, there is still the vowel sound -
yn + Caerdydd = yng Nghaerdydd > the two 'ng’s here blend into each other and the preceding sound is from the ‘y’ - so here, it sounds like “ung” as in ‘rung’.
fy + ci = fy nghi > again, the y sound precedes to give you another ‘ung’ sound… if you say it all at once you get vung-hee.

For other vowel sounds, swap in the sounds you get in rang, ring, wrong, rung (ok, so I can’t think of an ‘eng’ off the top off my head - but you get the idea).