Struggling to listen - just hear noise

Hi all,

I’m in my fourth year of studying welsh in Wrexham but I’m still struggling to listen to welsh.

I can read OK, I can say a lot of what I want to say, but if I listen to an audio exercise I don’t hear anything but noise, it’s just far too fast.

If I go out to speak to people I struggle, listen to the radio, watch S4C, all just noise. I don’t even get snippets of a topic it just flows over me an I don’t pick anything up.

I have an exam in eight weeks and I need to find a solution to this. I have some past papers but there are only five of them and, rather than gaining listening skills I think I’ll just improve my remembering skills.

I know about the new on-line chat forums and I’ve signed up but I need more focused practice on listening, something I can work on and go back to. (I live outside of Wrexham and Saith Seren is a bit of a trek when I’m busy I’m afraid although everyone has always been helpful there.)

Does anyone know of a resource I can use to improve this quite quickly?

Guy

2 Likes

Have you tried the SSiW listening exercises? :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I have but I would need to start from the beginning and I only have 8 weeks

I tried listening to them in the car but driving was too distracting and very exhausting

I might try them again in the summer break but until then I need something above basic level but that I can start up straight away … sounds almost impossible

I might take a look at episodes of Dal Ati because I can play them in very short steps - without subtitles, try and figure it out, and then play with the subtitles and try and play longer sections over time. Maybe if there is something else like that I could use as well . maybe I’ve answered my own question

I didn’t use the listening exercises as much as i should have done, but when i did they really do work if you stick at them.

Listening isn’t easy, it takes time and patience to find a way in.