Technical issue - downloads aren’t available offline

Hello, hope it’s ok to ask this question… I’m new to using this app and I love it! It’s my favorite resource to date :slight_smile: I only have one problem, i’ve only got to challenge 3 as my downloads aren’t available if I don’t have wifi. I’m currently traveling around South America so spend a lot of time without wifi. I’ve tried deleting and re-downloading the app but it’s showing the same problem…any advise/hints would be greatly appreciated:)

1 Like

I don’t use the Spanish app much since it’s only on iOS so far, but I do use the android ssiw app. Once I have pressed on the cloud symbol and the lesson is downloaded I can listen without wifi. I just tried downloading a lesson in Spanish and then turned my wifi off. It seems to be working fine for me.
Hopefully someone technical will be along in a bit with some way of making it work for you.
In the meantime, what I do to get Spanish on my android phone may work for you. I download the lessons from the website rather than the app, then just play them in my phone’s music player. I’ve created a playlist to keep them together and in the right order.

1 Like

That sounds odd - might be a settings thing - they’re certainly meant to be available permanently once they’re downloaded - @lewie might be able to ask some sensible questions here… :slight_smile:

I assume that we’re talking about the iOS app here. The app itself doesn’t distinguish whether you are using Wifi or not. But there are a couple of things that I can think of to check:

1. Is cellular data disabled? (Settings app -> Cellular -> Cellular Data - there’s a slider switch that enables/disables it)

2. Is cellular data disabled for the app? (same screen … scroll nearly to the end to “SaySomethingInWelsh” - there’s a similar slider switch)

Both of those should be ON to enable downloads without Wifi. Be sure that you’ve got a good international data plan in place first, though, or it could get expensive!