Welsh holiday suggestions needed

Suggestions please - I want to go on holiday to Wales with my 16 year old. So I need a location which can provide some thing of interest for a teenager. All ideas welcome ! (I only want to be away for 2 / 3 nights)

Thank you in advance!

What are his/her/their interests and which part of Wales would you be thinking of - it’ll help us pin point more relevant ideas! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thanks Siaron. Anywhere in Wales TBH - have car will travel ! However, . since I’d like to practice / attempt to say something in Welsh probably north Wales since I’m that’s what I’m studying but south and mid Wales is more convenient to get easier. My teen’s interests are sitting on a beach / with a screen !

I only really have experience of the south. I live in the South so travelling west to Pembrokeshire has been regular since I was a child. Specifically
Tenby which is a lovely place to visit. (it has many activities nearby oakwood Park, Heatherton, folly farm. Beaches. But check openings etc if you’re going this year).
Pembrokeshire in general is beautiful. But I’ve been visiting for years and I’ve never noticed Welsh speakers (corrections welcome haven’t been travelling much since I started learning Welsh last September).
I have been itching to go to Aberystwyth myself. My plans had to change.
There’s so many lovely places to visit though.

1 Like

One of my favourite beaches up here in the north is Harlech. It’s usually pretty quiet even in summer, especially the far end away from the car park. There aren’t that many attractions as such other than the castle, but with anywhere at the moment it’s best to check what is and isn’t open beforehand. The more facilities a place has, the more crowded it’s going to be.
Most of the beaches around the Lleyn Peninsula are heaving at the moment, so I would suggest definitely avoiding those at the moment.