When to start reading?

I’m wondering if it’s too early to start trying to read books in Welsh. I’ve seen one called Ffenestri on Amazon.
I’m at the end of level one. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to read anything yet, I didn’t understand the books I’ve seen aimed at children. When would be the right time to think about reading Welsh?

I’ve always been a big reader and I’m a writer too. Also reading the Welsh word helps me to remember it. Often if I’ve been stuck I can look at the vocab list and it helps. I just don’t want to do too much too soon.

5 Likes

Your post reminded me I had seen something about reading before.
Found the link to the post (and the whole thread, if you’re interested). It refers to old courses, rather than levels so things may have changed a bit, but I guess most points are still valid:

3 Likes

Ffenestri is a great book to start the reading journey as it is written in the spoken form (as opposed to literary Welsh which can muddy the waters ) and starts with easier grammar at the beginning and cranks it up a bit as you go through!

I would just try it and see if it works/ feels right - you could always come back to it later - but I suspect you’ll be just fine :wink:

Rich :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks for the help :blush: I’ll take a look and thanks for the info on ffenestri.
Update: that post made sense. I find it easier to read Welsh than to listen and maybe I should work on that first. Finish level one first at least. Small steps. Thanks for the help

1 Like

Hi Jen,

I read Ffenestri long before I was at the end of level 1. It’s a great book as it is broken into three sections (Mynediad, Sylfaen and Canolradd) and has poems and short stories at each level. There’s also a glossary of new words at the bottom of each page. And the poems and stories are actually good in their own right, not just as learning material. Learners of any level should find something they can read without too much difficulty.