Anyone near Llandovery doing or just done the ssiw6m course?

I’m in Llangadog and have just finished the ssiw6m course, now attempting level 3 and signed up to continue - I don’t want to forget what I have learned! I’m not good at quickly understanding what is said to me in Welsh and need to practise. Anyone feel the same?

4 Likes

I’ll put a note in the weekly newsletter for you June, and see if we can find a few people for you to practise with. I’m sure there are a few around there, but there isn’t a regular SSiW meetup that I know of … yet :slight_smile:

June I have just finished 6month course too, any time you wish to dm me on 6 month slack please do. Im no good at listening either so it could be an interesting conversation🤨 especially as I learnt gog version.
I know its not the same as meeting up with somebody and hope you can practice your Cymraeg in the wild soon.

1 Like

Wel, wel - Llangadog! :slight_smile: This is the village where my mother Mair Jones / nee Gravelle (emphasis on the first syllable) was born and bred. Mamgu (May Gravelle) kept the corner shop on Queen’s Square (sic). Tadcu (W J Gravelle) was a music teacher and the conductor of the famed Gravelle Choir. My great auntie Nen (Gwen Morgan) was a teacher in Llangadog School and her father was the headmaster. I’m 73, so people in the village of my age and more will certainly remember Mrs Gravelle and “WJ” and possibly, Gwen Morgan. My brother and I spent every summer with mamgu and tadcu as children and much of our time was in and around the Sawdde on the common. Please forgive my self-indulgent “hiraeth” for some of the happiest days in my life.

I don’t belong to Slack any more but, if you use Skype and would like to chat, please send me a PM with your Skype user name. :smile:

3 Likes

thank you