105 days without processed sugar...:-)

And counting - I need to break 107 for it to be my longest run without the big bad S. :sunny:

So what are you doing well right now? :thumbsup:

Those of you who are as inclined to slightly OCD tracking as I am might enjoy the tick-that-day-off tool I use at:

www.chains.cc

:boom: :zap: :beers: :cocktail:

2 Likes

So let me jump in with two big feet, here :wink:
What’s bad about sucrose - a very simple organic molecule (C6H22O11) and important source of energy? Bags of sugar were one of the few shop-bought products that were pure enough to be kept as chemical reagents in laboratories. If it’s the impurities that you’re interested in, however, I know very little about them.

Sugars from other sources - glucose, sucrose, fructose from honey etc all have their values to our species in moderation and all can be harmful in excess (refined or not).

I’m an enthusiastic cook and keep a store of some exotic sugars, not for their benefit to health, but for their interesting taste in certain dishes. As for refined sugar, I should add that a bag lasts our family a substantial part of a year.

How is it that after this abstention from the “big bad S”, you’re still such a sweet-talkin’ sonofagun? :smiley:

Not so simple, sir…:wink:

It’s a disaccharide - one molecule of glucose, one molecule of fructose.

Fructose is the problem - because:

It can only be converted to ATP in the liver.

The enzyme PFK-1 is usually responsible for stopping the creation of ATP if we have a surplus for our energy needs. In normal conditions this means that body won’t create excess circulating fatty acids (which is what happens with a surplus of ATP).

However…

Fructose, uniquely, does not need the presence of PFK-1 to be converted to ATP.