Any Questions about the Online Eisteddfod 2020

Please post any questions about any aspect of the 2020 Online Eisteddfod in this thread.

1 Like

I’m a total beginner (Level 1 challenge 11), so not aspiring to enter this year, but… when is it happening and how can I be part of the audience?

1 Like

It is actually happening! :slight_smile:

From now to Sunday November 15h, participants can send their entries to the submissions officer (well that happens to be me, this year).

Then I’ll publish them in this section of the Forum, and maybe somewhere else too. We’ll keep you updated on where and when, here and via the SSiW newsletter.

There’s categories for all levels, and not only poetry and prose. It’s also visual arts, photography and music!

More details about categories and how to participate can be found here:

1 Like

I would definitely urge you to have a go. Seriously, it’s good fun and no pressure. I was the only entrant in my category the first year, but sitting down and thinking about what to write was still an interesting challenge, and it’s nice in the following years to compare your earlier work and see how your language skills have improved in the meantime.

1 Like

Thanks Gisella, I’ll have a look!

1 Like

Thanks Stephen, it’s nice to know that it’s all about the enjoyment. I just don’t know what I could realistically offer but I’ll have a look through the categories!

1 Like

is it okay to ask for help with some words and/or phrases on the forum for the writing category? Is the writing judged on the accuracy of the Welsh or the quality of the story?

It needs to be your own work, though you can consult dictionaries, grammar books, websites, etc. We will have to discuss the criteria with our guest judge this year, but we don’t usually give voting guidance to SSiW members when we open the polls.