Gloucester - Cheltenham Meetups

I am re-starting a Welsh meeting between Gloucester and Cheltenham at the Bell Inn in Shurdington GL51 4XQ at 7.30pm every 2nd Wednesday starting on 9th March. It is a pleasant venue on the main Cheltenham to Stroud road, partly chosen because of the bus stop opposite. I know Steve and Andy came to our last meeting before the pandemic and we usually have one or two native Welsh speakers attending. Anyone of any linguistic ability is very welcome although an ability to sit for prolonged periods in the lotus position is desirable. That last bit is of course a joke and simply reflects my frivolous mood today.
Hwyl, Nic (@nic)

4 Likes

Hello Deborah, Yes please! My name’s Sian Jennings, I live in Cheltenham, and I’ve been learning Welsh with SSiW since 2020, but have not yet spoken it to another living soul. Shall I just turn up? Do you want an email address or mobile number?

@nic is the organiser for this group, but usually it’s fine to just show up. You could also send him a Private Message by clicking on his name, then using the ‘Message’ button. That way he’ll know to keep an eye out for you.

Enjoy the meetup!

Many thanks !

Sian

Hello Sian. You are most welcome to come along to the re-starting Welsh meeting in Shurdington, near Cheltenham. We are all very friendly, so please don’t feel that it would be a daunting prospect. It’s a good way to dip your toes into dwr Cymru and make the transition form learning to chatting.
Nic

1 Like

Hi Nic live in Cheltenham, newbie to SSIW - can I come along?

Yes, of course - come along and say something in Welsh and listen to others doing the same. It’s the best way to build confidence and make friends at the same time.
Nic

1 Like

Just a reminder that the monthly meeting between Gloucester and Cheltenham is re-starting this Wednesday (9th) at the Bell Inn, Shurdington GL51 4XQ. So far, nine people have said they are coming so it should be a good opportunity to have a sgwrs.
Cofion, Nic