[more success] Idea dump: how to increase learners' ability

In here for ideas about how to help more learners succeed by increasing their ability

Getting across the idea that language learning has really changed, and that there are so many more resources available. It is so much easier to immerse yourself in the language with new media. Plus there are options to find conversations online too (and if we can facilitate that so much the better). Even just having a dictionary on my phone has made so much difference, especially in Welsh when looking up words you didn’t understand was particularly painful because of the mutations.

Getting across that if one thing isn’t working for you, there are other options to try (sort of the same thing).

Getting across that with all these extra ways of learning (SSIW in particular!) there is no need for it to take years and years to get to conversational standard.

1 Like

One idea I put on the Trello (Sorry I’m really new to that!) was the idea of running a very informal “buddying” system for want of a better word.

The idea being you get a bunch of guys and gals who have been the round the block a fair few times with SSIW and you pair them up with people who are just starting the course. This could take the form of real life chats, skype chats, whatever.

The idea being that in a years time or whatever, the weaker buddy builds up the skills to then become a “stronger” buddy to another new person - and the organic cycle continues.

The “more experienced” buddy wouldn’t need to be a fluent speaker by any means, just someone who has done the whole course and can perhaps ease the person through it, give them advice etc.

3 Likes

“Great minds think alike” That the fact that you and @leiafee and @yorkshireend in the Magic Bullets thread had the same thought means it must be good. :slight_smile: Keep them coming - a good idea needs more than one airing.

3 Likes