Vocab isn't an issue, but I can't remember the longer sentences

Just started and I’m having a hard time remembering some of the longer sentences to repeat, for example when he asks you to say, “I ought to try to remember how to say what I want to say” I get tripped up on WHAT the sentence was; its like short-term memory loss or something. I CAN remember the vocab in Spanish just fine, but the sentences not so much.

Is this common? Maybe its the learning process? I think its because the sentences are so unusual that I’m having a hard time.

1 Like

Hola Conrad,

Although I have only just started the Spanish course, I am a veteran of the Welsh version. So I feel qualified to confirm that what you are experiencing is perfectly normal. Take it slowly, practice the sentences outside the lesson even, and you will soon have them flowing. And by doing so, get a tremendous head start over those learning the language on other more traditional courses. This method of language learning is truly revolutionary in its ability to get you speaking Spanish/Welsh/whatever faster and more naturally than any other. Trust the method, make mistakes, laugh rather than cry at your frustrations, and keep on going. I promise you from personal experience, it will work for you. You are not necessarily trying to remember the long sentences, but training your brain to be able to produce those sentences naturally and easily from the building blocks that you have learnt. It is going to be tricky to begin with, but it will come.