What do you do for a living?

I hope you don’t mind me asking. I’m currently at a tricky juncture, seriously considering the future of my working life and where I go from here. I’m genuinely interested in discovering what other people do for a living. I’m lacking direction and finding it hard to find the right path which compliments my family life, so I would greatly value inspiration and different perspectives.

I’m interested in the following…

Do you work from home or away from home?
Are you full or part time?
Have you been in the same career since leaving school/college/university?
Or have you changed jobs a lot?
Does or has illness or disability ever affected your work/career?
Have you ever had dramatic career changes?
How do you juggle work and family life?

etc, etc, etc…

I’ve been working since I was 10, no really! I babysat for pocket money in our village when I was 10. At 13 I worked as a stable hand, then for the rest of my teenage years I worked as a hairdresser’s assistant, a waitress, a fish and chip shop girl and some more babysitting.

I struggled at school because of undiagnosed ADD and years of bullying. As a result, I left after A-Levels feeling despondent, lacking in confidence and with no direction. I excelled at literature, creative writing and art, but as a result of very poor career advice, went to college to train as a beauty therapist!

Beauty therapy didn’t stick, I quickly became bored and uninspired - it just wasn’t me. Then because of a fluke meeting, I spent the first half of my 20s working as a live in nanny for the rich and famous in London and Boston Mass, with a few other odd jobs in between such as picture framer, shop assistant and a life model for a sculptor.