Speaking Welsh in Llandudno

Hi, I’ve been learning for about 6 months. Gone through Courses 1 and 2 - too quickly, so am now going to go through Levels 1 and 2. However, I’m getting no conversation practice and am absolutely terrified of trying to speak to anyone in Welsh. As such, I was wondering whether there were any learners in the Llandudno area who wanted to meet up in a caff for a coffee and a “go” at speaking Welsh. Evenings are best for me but I can do weekends. I have a car and a wanderlust that has seen me travel as far as Colwyn Bay and Conwy.
Steve

2 Likes

This may not be much help in the very short term, but Eirwen and I seem to find ourselves in North Wales most years visiting family. Do you play tennis - in which case we can “play tennis in Welsh” at Eirias Park in Colwyn Bay. We normally base ourselves near Abergele and Llanfairtalhaian.

If not tennis then coffee, fish and chips and afternoon-tea figure prominently on our to-do list when visiting and all lend themselves to great conversations in Welsh with and without food in our mouths at the same time.

Anyway, we wish you a successful journey deep into the riches of the Welsh language and when we are next in Wales we should be able to offer ourselves as sparring partners for you in Welsh conversation. Of course, you may be fluent by then;

Justin

1 Like

Shwmae Steve! I’ll actually be travelling to Wales after Christmas, so if you’re around in late January/early February, I’d be happy to swing by your way and we can grab a coffee. :smile:

3 Likes

Hi Karla

Thanks for your reply and the offer. I’ll wait to hear from you when you arrive in Wales. I’m listed in the learners as Steve_Llandudno so you can message me there or via this thread. In the meantime, have a great Christmas.

Steve

1 Like

Hi Justin