tra vyth - anything (with negative)
prena - to buy
chi - house
godhvos - to know
gorthyp - answer
an - the
ri - to give
ri dhis - to give you

Incidentally, I notice in the middle of this lesson, “nyns yw res dhymm” (I don’t need) is turned into something like “nyns eus res dhymm”, with no explanation — both Pol and Julia do it. Then it later switches back to “nyns yw res dhymm”, equally inexplicably, and stays that way for the rest of the lesson, and for the rest of the course as far as I remember. Does anyone here know why that is?? I’m pretty sure “nyns yw” is the usual form there, but I’d be glad to know whether that variation is another acceptable way of saying it.

Hope no-one minds me posting the vocab here — I just thought it was a good excuse to go through the course again and would be a help to others who are wanting to know the spelling! :wink: I’m following the Standard Written Form (which is used in the official online Cornish dictionary), but I’m not an expert, so please let me know if you can see any mistakes.

8 Likes

Lesson 3

ty a vynn - you want
govyn - to ask
ty a yll - you can
res yw dhis - you need / you have to
da yw genes - you like
leverel - to tell / to say
leverel dhymm - to tell me
ri dhymm - to give me
pyth - what
pyth a vyn’ta - what you want
leverel dhis - to tell you
my a wra - I’m going to
ty a wra - you’re going to

7 Likes

Thank you VERY much, Courtenay - that’s a wonderful contribution
 :star: :star2:

That sounds like a hiccup in the translating, I’d imagine - thank you very much for flagging it up - once we’re running the Cornish stuff through the new course creation tool, it’ll be much easier to fix this sort of stuff, but it’s very, very helpful to have a list in the meantime
 :sunny:

4 Likes

You make me more and more curious how this magnificent tool works (umm 
 well 
 tec spirit in me is curious anyway 
 ) :slight_smile: This sounds more and more interesting 
 :slight_smile:

4 Likes